Book Review: The sleeper and the spindle by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

Blurb: A thrillingly reimagined fairy tale weaving together a sort-of Snow White and an almost Sleeping Beauty with a thread of dark magic, which will hold readers spellbound from start to finish.

Published: 28 November 2019

Page length: 72

Review: The sleeper and the spindle is a pretty short book, only 72 pages so it was a very quick read for me.

It’s a dark reimagined fairytale featuring a combination of the tales of Sleeping beauty and Snow white where Snow goes to save the sleeping princess and it has quite the twist towards the end. I have to say the book didn’t go in the direction I thought it would at all.

I have read a few Neil Gaiman books before like Coraline, The graveyard book, Fortunately the milk and Norse mythology; all of which I absolutely loved but unfortunately I didn’t feel the same way about this one.

The illustrations were gorgeous and really beautiful and the book was nonetheless a 3 star read for me. However, the story just kind of left me feeling a little unsatisfied like there was something missing. Perhaps because it wasn’t as deep and too quick, the characters didn’t exactly feel developed properly.

It does still have the charm and magic weaved through it that I find characteristic of Gaiman’s books.

Rating: 3/5🌟

Thank you so much @bloomsburyindia for the review copy.

🔥How many books have you read so far and which is the first book you picked up for 2020? Let me know in the comments!

-Bee x

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment